Hans Rott -
Movement for String Quartet op. VII

(Nowak no. 70/71, Banks no. 57)

Updated on
August 23, 2017
Hans Rott
His Life
His Music
His Importance
Works Index
What's On?
On This Site
Visitors' Book
Site Index
Zur deutschen Seite
Internationale Hans Rott Gesellschaft
Copyright Martin Brilla
All rights reserved

Time and place of composition unknown. As all parts have been written down in the treble clef there is a good reason to suspect that it is either a very early composition or that it was conceived in the lunatic asylum. The musical quality of this work is not too good either.

It is, however, remarkable that some almost exact passages can also be found in the Scene from Schillers "Glocke" ("The Bell") in C major resp. the Symphony for String Orchestra in A-flat major. Whether these are quotations from both works or these passages have their origin in this movement for string quartet remains unclear for the time being.

The below-mentioned edition is based upon the autograph score (ÖNB Mus. Hs. 28.403) as well as the autograph part of the first violin (ÖNB Mus. Hs. 28.404).

Back to the Index of Playable Works

This composition has 307 bars.


The edition is available from:

Musikverlag Ries & Erler Berlin
Wandalenallee 8
D-14052 Berlin
Telefon: +49 (0)30 - 825 10 49
Telefax: +49 (0)30 - 825 97 21
E-Mail: verlag@rieserler.de
Internet: http://www.rieserler.de

All rights reserved!

(without any claim of completion)
October 15, 2014
Hans Rott Quartett
Vienna/A, Konzerthaus/Schubert-Saal


Back to the Index of Playable Works  

Internationale Hans Rott Gesellschaft